STILL DISAPPOINTING! I posted a negative review of these about a year ago. Spurred on by the recent positive reviews I bought another pack. Nope, still tasteless & just like the prawns in a cheap takeaway. I bought a pack of identical looking prawns from the frozen food retailer next-door to Iceland....exactly the same. Both products are farmed in India so that appears to be the problem. The tastiest prawns seem to be farmed in Thailand & Vietnam. Maybe they have different techniques or varieties of prawn?Think I'll stick to the Argentinian Red Shrimp which are fab! Submitted by Jonathan 22/04/2017 08:17
Gorgeous prawns Lovely prawns - not all were de-veined unfortunately but Iceland rectified this when I wrote to them Submitted by Katrina 07/04/2017 01:10
Excellent prawns These prawns are excellent..& succulent ... these are covered in water .. you have to wash them off until they are gone .. quick tip those who want a quick tasty prawn - add a bit of oil in a pan, heat it up, add the prawns, chilli/paprika powder, salt and cover for 2-3 mins in medium heat. Once the water has evaporated, keep turning it until it is dry.. yummy... Submitted by chris s 03/12/2016 05:43
Best Prawns around Love these and have them every week, good size and don't shrink during cooking; just a quick fry in chilli and garlic they are amazing ! Submitted by Juz 17/09/2016 07:10
Perfect The prawns are amazing, fried in garlic and chilli they are firm and taste great, thumbs up from the whole family. Submitted by Juz 13/08/2016 05:42
Excellent These prawns are by the best of any supermarket prawns. I really don't understand the negative reviews. I have used them in curries, with linguine, in paella and on their own with plenty of chilli and garlic. Wouldn't buy prawns from anywhere else. Submitted by Anonymous 25/05/2016 01:12
King Prawns I have bought these prawns since they arrived in your freezer - they are the best in any shops - have recommended them to friends and they are all in agreement - well worth a try Submitted by Janet 28/04/2016 11:51
Something strange? Just following up my review below. I decided to use some more of the packet in a curry as others had done. But after simmering in a curry sauce the texture is still gelatinous and the firm sweetness of a 'normal prawn' is absent. They are just tasteless and to be honest quite unpleasant in texture. Are these enhanced in some way - to make them bigger or to grow faster? Who knows but its not a good product and Iceland should drop them from their range if they really value customer confidence. The remainder of the packet will go in the bin. Submitted by John 14/01/2016 08:23
Enhanced? I decided to order and try a wide range of the Iceland seafood offerings so you will find a set of my reviews across products. These look quite impressive in the bag and being de-veined is a bonus, but when added to a Thai broth I agree with the reviewer who found them tasteless. Then I tried some on a skillet and they lost a lot of water, decreased in size bit then the texture and taste improved. I get the impression that these may have been boosted with water to increase the size and weight. I think I'll go back to the waitrose equivalent. Submitted by John1 04/12/2015 09:02
Good prawns Superb prawns, used in pasta and rice dishes I buy them all the time. Submitted by sheila 26/07/2015 11:31
Good Prawns Surprised at the negative reviews, I use half a bag in Prawn Madras and perfect for this. Submitted by John 19/07/2015 10:21
Tastes of nothing These prawns drew my attention because they looked lush, plump and a good size. However, when cooked they hardly change to pink and they`re just a bit tasteless. Would not buy again and would not recommend. Submitted by Carlien Pretorius 15/07/2015 09:19
Great Prawns! Good sized prawns, conveniently prepared. Submitted by SB1 25/06/2015 01:35
DISAPPOINTED! They remind me of the tasteless prawns that you get in a meal from your local indian/chinese restaurant or takeaway. Better to pay a bit extra for tiger/black tiger prawns Submitted by Jonathan 01/04/2015 09:30
Lovely Just defrost overnight in fridge marinate if you fancy and fry in dry pan until pink perfect - lovely on BBQ too Submitted by poppy 14/03/2015 04:50